Research Involving Animals at UZH

UZH Position Statement

The University of Zurich conducts research involving animals to better understand health and diseases in humans and animals, as well as to develop new treatments. Wherever possible, UZH uses animal-free methods and only uses animals in research when other methods are not possible.
Position Statement "Research Involving Animals at UZH"

UZH Policy on Research Involving Animals

The UZH Policy on Research Involving Animals obliges researchers to adhere to strategic principles and guidelines when conducting research with animals. The respectful, knowledgeable and responsible treatment of animals as well as the consistent application of the 3R principles (Replace, Reduce, Refine) are central.
UZH Policy on Research Involving Animals

Statement on the Ban Initiative

The University of Zurich rejects the federal popular initiative "Yes to the ban on animal and human experimentation", which will be put to the vote on 13 February 2022. The passing of the initiative would be devastating for scientific research and medical care in Switzerland.
Statement on the Ban Initiative

Forschung mit Tieren an der UZH

Position der Universität Zürich

Die Universität Zürich forscht mit Tieren, um Gesundheit und Krankheiten von Menschen und Tieren besser zu verstehen sowie um neue Therapien zu entwickeln. Die UZH setzt wenn immer möglich tierversuchsfreie Methoden ein und forscht nur dann mit Tieren, wenn dies nicht anders möglich ist.
Position der UZH zur Forschung mit Tieren

Policy zur Forschung mit Tieren

Die UZH-Policy zur Forschung mit Tieren verpflichtet die Forschenden zur Einhaltung von strategischen Grundsätzen und Richtlinien bei der Forschung mit Tieren. Im Zentrum stehen ein respektvoller, fachkundiger und verantwortungsbewusster Umgang mit den Tieren sowie die konsequente Anwendung der 3R-Prinzipien («Replace: Ersetzen», «Reduce: Verringern» und «Refine: Verbessern»).
Policy der UZH zur Forschung mit Tieren

Stellungnahme zur Verbotsinitiative

Die Universität Zürich lehnt die eidgenössische Volksinitiative «Ja zum Tier- und Menschenversuchsverbot» ab, die am 13. Februar 2022 zur Abstimmung kommt. Eine Annahme wäre verheerend für die wissenschaftliche Forschung und die medizinische Versorgung in der Schweiz.
Stellungnahme zur Verbotsinitiative