Global Strategy 2030

Global University of Zurich

We all share one world. A world composed of an intricate diversity of societies, histories, visions, environments, and therefore of many realities at local, national and regional levels. A world in which many of the challenges faced by our societies know no borders. Thus, international collaboration is of outmost importance for our common future. 

To balance long-term thinking and agile acting UZH faculties and central services have drafted a joint long-term vision of what we aim to achieve by 2030 in terms of global outreach and engagement. The Global Strategy 2030 focuses on five key thematic areas. 

The World @ UZH

UZH is a truly open-minded and engaged university: Its members embody a global outlook and mindset. A diverse and culturally rich environment is actively fostered to generate creative and innovative outputs, interesting debates, and an inspiring learning, research and working environment on campus in Zurich. 

Internationally Connected

UZH joins forces all around the world with partners, universities and beyond, to conduct impactful research and innovation, offer top-quality education, and tackle complex challenges. It remains firmly embedded within the European Higher Education Area and committed to the goals of the European Research Area as an active partner for research, education, innovation and knowledge translation. Simultaneously, it expands its expertise and engagement to partners outside of Europe.

Global Thinkers and Shapers

As the largest comprehensive Swiss university, UZH plays a pivotal role to set a strong example of active engagement in tertiary education in the national higher education sector. It encourages its students and staff to be internationally mobile and experience other contexts. Evidence has demonstrated that an international experience provides not only a key opportunity to learn languages and intercultural skills, but also adds to increasingly important transversal skills, such as problem solving, resilience or effective communication.

Societal Responsibility

Humankind is facing increasingly complex, systemic and global challenges. Stronger exchange and collaboration between science, technology, business and society is crucial to tackle them. By increasing its engagement as a stakeholder in national and international policy making and diplomacy, the scientific community can bring its values of rationality, transparency and universality and help underpin a better global governance and build trust between nations and societies. 

On Stage

Top performance in research, the excellence of its students and graduates, civic engagement, and involvement in selected partnerships all contribute to the global reputation of UZH. The development of this reputation is supported by professional communication services, proactive dialogues with diverse realms of society and successful outreach programs.

UZH's Global Strategy 2030 is not the strategy of one office or faculty alone, the whole UZH community is responsible for its implementation. Global Affairs will take the lead on coordinating and monitoring its implementation.
www.global.uzh.ch

Global Strategy 2030

Global University of Zurich

Wir alle teilen uns eine Welt, die sich aus einer komplexen Vielfalt von Gesellschaften, Geschichten, Visionen und Umgebungen zusammensetzt und aus ebenso diversen Realitäten auf lokaler, nationaler und regionaler Ebene. Die Herausforderungen, vor denen wir als Gesellschaft stehen, kennen keine Grenzen. Deshalb ist die internationale Zusammenarbeit und der offene Dialog zwischen verschiedenen Weltanschauungen von größter Bedeutung für unsere gemeinsame Zukunft.

Um ein Gleichgewicht zwischen langfristigem Denken und agilem Handeln zu schaffen, haben die Fakultäten und zentralen Dienste der UZH eine gemeinsame langfristige Vision für die globale Reichweite und das globale Engagement unserer Universität bis 2030 erarbeitet. Die «Global Strategy 2030» der UZH konzentriert sich auf fünf thematische Bereiche.

The World @ UZH

Die UZH ist eine weltoffene und engagierte Hochschule: Ihre Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden denken und handeln global. Wir fördern aktiv ein diverses und kulturell vielfältiges Umfeld, um kreative und innovative Ergebnisse, interessante Debatten und ein inspirierendes Lern-, Forschungs- und Arbeitsumfeld auf dem Campus zu schaffen.

Internationally Connected

Die UZH arbeitet weltweit mit Partnern zusammen – Universitäten sowie auch anderen Institutionen –, um wirkungsvolle Forschung und Innovation voranzutreiben, eine erstklassige Ausbildung anzubieten und Lösungen für komplexe gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen zu finden. Unsere Universität bleibt fest im Europäischen Hochschulraum verankert und den Zielen des Europäischen Forschungsraums als aktive Partnerin für Forschung, Bildung, Innovation und Wissenstransfer verpflichtet. Gleichzeitig weitet sie ihr Fachwissen und ihr Engagement auf Partner außerhalb Europas aus.

Global Thinkers and Shapers

Als grösste Schweizer Volluniversität nimmt die UZH ihre Vorbildfunktion für aktives Engagement in der tertiären Bildung im nationalen Hochschulsektor wahr. Sie ermutigt ihre Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden, international mobil zu sein und andere Kontexte kennenzulernen. Es ist erwiesen, dass eine internationale Erfahrung nicht nur eine wichtige Gelegenheit zum Erlernen von Sprachen und interkulturellen Kompetenzen bietet, sondern auch zu immer wichtiger werdenden transversalen Kompetenzen wie Problemlösung, Belastbarkeit oder erfolgreicher Kommunikation beiträgt.

Societal Responsibility

Die Menschheit steht vor immer komplexeren systemischen und globalen Herausforderungen. Ein verstärkter Austausch und eine engere Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft, Technologie, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sind für die Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen von entscheidender Bedeutung. Durch ein verstärktes Engagement als Akteurin in der nationalen und internationalen Politik und Diplomatie kann die Wissenschaft ihre Werte der Rationalität, Transparenz und Universalität einbringen und dazu beitragen, eine bessere globale Führung zu unterstützen und Vertrauen zwischen Nationen und Gesellschaften aufzubauen.

On Stage

Die UZH hat viel zu bieten auf dem internationalen Parkett. Mit ihrer Spitzenleistung in der Forschung, der fachlichen Exzellenz der Studierenden und Absolvent*innen, dem gesellschaftlichen Engagement und Mitwirken in internationalen Kollaborationen geniesst die UZH einen weltweit ausgezeichneten Ruf. Die Wirkungskraft des Denkens an der UZH wird durch verschiedene Kommunikationsmassnahmen und Events global sichtbarer gemacht. Die Reputationsentwicklung wird durch professionelle Kommunikationskanäle, proaktive Dialoge mit verschiedenen Bereichen der Gesellschaft und erfolgreiche Outreach-Programme unterstützt.

Die Global Strategy 2030 der UZH ist nicht die Strategie einer einzelnen Abteilung oder einer einzelnen Fakultät, sondern die der gesamten UZH-Gemeinschaft: Wir alle sind für ihre Umsetzung verantwortlich.
www.global.uzh.ch