University-Wide Management Processes

University-wide management processes at UZH can be understood as quality cycles on three levels: on a long-term strategic level, on a medium-term planning level, and on an operational level.

Strategic Principles

UZH has developed a set of strategic principles that define the University’s strategy. This is supplemented by sub-strategies and permanent policies such as the Diversity Policy, the Gender Policy Code of Conduct, the Sustainability Policy, the Disability Statement and the Leadership and Management Principles.
Strategic Principles

The Executive Board’s Priority Program and Development and Financial Plan

The Executive Board of the University creates priority programs for the purpose of medium-term planning in which they lay out priorities and specific measures to be implemented during their four-year term. UZH’s development and financial plan is designed as a rolling four-year plan. It contains the budget for the first year alongside information on development priorities and how to fund them over the following three years.

Yearly Management Cycle

Yearly management cycles, with their regularly scheduled planning, meeting and decision-making instruments, form a fundamental part of quality management on an operational level. Strategy and development meetings are an especially important platform for quality development. These meetings provide a forum for management bodies on different levels to discuss quality issues, building on insights and guidelines from previous meetings. Results from evaluations and QMSL data can also provide a basis for these discussions.

Gesamtuniversitäre Führungsprozesse

Die gesamtuniversitären Führungsprozesse der UZH lassen sich auf drei Ebenen als Qualitätskreisläufe verstehen: auf der Ebene der langfristigen Strategie, auf der Ebene der mittelfristigen Planung und auf der Ebene der operativen Umsetzung.

Strategische Grundsätze

Die Strategie der UZH ist in den Strategischen Grundsätzen ausformuliert. Dazu kommen Teilstrategien und zeitlich nicht begrenzte Policies wie etwa die Diversity Policy, der Verhaltenskodex Gender Policy, die Sustainability Policy, das Disability Statement und die Führungsgrundsätze der UZH.
Strategische Grundsätze

Schwerpunktprogramm der Universitätsleitung und EFP

Für die mittelfristige Planung wird ein Schwerpunktprogramm der Universitätsleitung formuliert. Hier legt die Universitätsleitung jeweils Schwerpunkte für ihre vierjährige Amtszeit fest und ordnet ihnen konkrete Massnahmen zu. Der Entwicklungs- und Finanzplan (EFP) der UZH ist als rollende Vierjahresplanung konzipiert. Er enthält das Budget für das erste Jahr sowie Angaben zu den Entwicklungsschwerpunkten und deren Finanzierung in den drei Folgejahren.

Jahreszyklus der Führung

Auf der Ebene der operativen Umsetzung ist der Jahreszyklus der Führung mit seinen regelmässig terminierten Planungs-, Gesprächs- und Entscheidungsformaten grundlegend. Für die Qualitätsentwicklung kommt dem Gefäss der Strategie- und Entwicklungsgespräche besondere Bedeutung zu. Hier tauschen sich Führungsorgane verschiedener Ebenen, aufbauend auf den Erkenntnissen und Vorgaben der früheren Gespräche, über Fragen der Qualität aus und können dabei auf die Resultate von Evaluationen oder auf Daten des Qualitätsmanagements Studium und Lehre zurückgreifen.