University Operations

UZH attaches great importance to continuously ensuring and developing the quality of its operations. This is the only way to provide top-notch support to the University's core areas of research, teaching and services.

Finances

The Internal Control System (ICS) and the Internal Audit office are the primary units responsible for the internal quality assurance of UZH’s finances. The University is also subject to financial supervision by the cantonal audit office, which audits and certifies the UZH annual closing process.

Human Resources

Professional processes for planning, recruitment and staff support form the core of HR’s mission. Employees receive regular feedback and have the opportunity to develop their skills, for instance by attending continuing education courses. Integrated HR management offers support and advisory services to managers and other employees of the University.

Health and Safety

In order to ensure the health and safety of all employees, the UZH Safety, Security and Environment office operates a safety and risk management strategy that consists of raising awareness, identification, assessment, planning measures and monitoring.

Real Estate and Building Infrastructure

Real estate management at UZH makes use of professional structures and processes alongside quality instruments that are standard in the sector. The real estate committee is responsible for regular quality monitoring activities. It is an expert committee belonging to the Board of University, and representatives from the Canton of Zurich’s building and education departments are also members.

IT

IT project portfolio planning revolves around renewing, expanding and improving UZH’s IT services over the long term, with security, availability and performance as the top priorities. The availability of the most important IT services is measured automatically.

Universitärer Betrieb

Die UZH legt grossen Wert darauf, dass die Qualität des universitären Betriebs kontinuierlich gesichert und weiterentwickelt wird. Nur so können die Aktivitäten in den Kernbereichen Forschung, Lehre und Dienstleistungen optimal unterstützt werden.

Finanzen

Im Bereich der Finanzen erfolgt die interne Qualitätssicherung vor allem über das Interne Kontrollsystem (IKS) und die Interne Revision. Zudem untersteht die UZH der Aufsicht der kantonalen Finanzkontrolle. Diese auditiert und testiert den Jahres­ab­schluss der UZH.

Personal

Im Personalwesen stehen professionelle Verfahren der Planung, Rekrutierung und Betreuung im Vordergrund. Die Mitarbeitenden erhalten regelmässige Feedbacks und haben die Möglichkeit, sich (z. B. im Rahmen von Weiterbildungen) weiter ­zu­ ent­wickeln. Das integrierte Personalmanagement bietet Dienst- und Beratungsleistungen für Führungskräfte und andere Mitarbeitende der UZH an.

Sicherheit und Gesundheit

Um die Sicherheit und Gesundheit aller Mitarbeitenden zu gewährleisten, betreibt die Abteilung Sicherheit und Umwelt ein Sicherheits- und Risikomanagement, das auf Sensibilisierung, Identifikation, Bewertung, Massnahmenplanung und Kontrolle abzielt.

Immobilien und bauliche Infrastruktur

Das Immobilienmanagement der UZH setzt auf professionelle Strukturen und Verfahren sowie auf die Implementierung branchenüblicher Qualitätsinstrumente. Eine regelmässige Qualitätsprüfung erfolgt durch das sogenannte Immobilienkomitee, einen Fachausschuss des Universitätsrates, in dem auch die Bildungs- und die Baudirektion des Kantons Zürich vertreten sind.

IT

Die IT-Projektportfolio-Planung orientiert sich an einer nachhaltigen Erneuerung, Erweiterung und Verbesserung der IT-Dienste der UZH, wobei Sicherheit, Ver­füg­barkeit und Performance prioritär sind. Die Ver­füg­barkeit der wichtigsten IT-Dienste wird automatisch gemessen.