Quality Strategy of the University of Zurich 2020–2026

The University of Zurich is committed to achieving the highest standard of quality in all its activities. This principle is anchored in both the mission statement and the strategic principles of the University. Via the University Act, the Executive Board of the University is mandated to make provisions to secure the quality of UZH’s research, teaching and services

The quality strategy defines five goals for quality assurance and development at UZH in the period 2020–2026:

Goal 1: The System of Quality Assurance and Development Helps UZH to Attain Its Overarching Goals

The actions of UZH are guided by defined goals. For the long term, these goals are drawn from the University’s mission statement, strategic principles and policies. In the medium term, the University strives to implement the relevant four-year priority program defined by the Executive Board of the University. For each current year, decisions and actions are informed by the goals set out in the development and financial plan. The priority programs defined by the Executive Board of the University are complemented by faculty-level programs.

UZH’s goals are determined by a variety of factors. They are shaped by its legal mandate from the Canton of Zurich as well as the demands of research excellence and high academic standing. UZH is guided in its work by national and international standards as well as recognized best practices; in this regard, the League of European Research Universities (LERU) provides a key benchmark. Another factor is the expectations of the UZH community, namely those of the students and employees in their various roles, and also those of key contacts in the spheres of politics, industry and society.

The system of quality assurance and development is structured so as to help UZH attain its goals in a way that is underpinned by evidence. In particular, it provides for regular dialogue – based on current management information – between all relevant stakeholders; such dialogue focuses not only on defined goals and their level of realization, but also on the related challenges and risks they entail. Stakeholder dialogue further serves to define measures that continually improve goal attainment.

Goal 2: Processes of Quality Assurance and Development Form the Basis of Research Excellence in All Areas

The quality of research at UZH is primarily secured and developed via funding instruments, competitive processes, peer-review processes and feedback from in-house and external experts. Beyond applying scientific and university-wide standards, each research area at UZH defines its own quality requirements, which are complemented by quality assurance measures.

UZH develops and communicates its rules for competitive funding via the relevant committees and working groups. By continually improving the funding process, it ensures that the requirements of highest research quality are satisfied.

As a cosignatory to the San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA), UZH plays its part in the improvement of research evaluation. In particular, in its research quality, UZH is committed to the highest standards of transparency, reproducibility and enabling the broadest possible access to its research results. Likewise, UZH strives to ensure that both interdisciplinary and disciplinary research are adequately and equally evaluated.

Goal 3: Complete Quality Management Cycles Are Implemented in the Areas of Teaching and Learning, Evaluation and Management Processes

Besides funding measures and favorable framework conditions, the system of quality assurance and development at UZH is underpinned by complete quality management cycles, particularly in the areas of teaching and learning, evaluation and management processes.

Such quality management cycles are integrated in the daily business and activities of the University. They are designed to enable the evaluation of achievements, to identify areas for action, and to adopt or adapt necessary measures on the basis of regular assessments. This fosters continual improvement processes (CIPs) while enabling UZH to quickly respond to challenges and actively pursue opportunities. Quality management cycles at UZH are integrated to allow the sharing of management information between quality cycles in accordance with defined access rights.

The system of quality assurance and development ensures that members of the UZH community are aware of and understand the relevant quality cycles, processes and instruments. The University employs digital tools to simplify such processes, especially when it comes to sharing information and standardizing procedures and reporting.

Goal 4: University-Wide and Faculty-Level Measures of Quality Assurance and Development Are Interlinked Effectively

Due to the size of UZH and the autonomy of its faculties, quality assurance and development is not homogeneous across every level and every area of activity. Rather, as in several areas of the University, decentral and central initiatives are coordinated according to the principle of subsidiarity and UZH’s self-conception as an organization of experts.

The system of quality assurance and development is designed to allow decentral and central measures to be integrated effectively and systematically. The measures adopted by the faculties should be systemically compatible within the context of the relevant faculty. In addition, by determining specific measures that are binding for all faculties, the Executive Board of the University establishes a coherent standard of quality for the University as a whole.

The system of quality assurance and development requires the Executive Board of the University and the faculty deans to confer regularly on the effective integration of university-wide and faculty-level measures.

Goal 5: A Culture of Quality Is Fostered and Practiced Throughout the University

To attain the four goals outlined above, a culture of quality is fostered at the University. The management bodies of UZH cultivate dialogue with the university community on matters of quality; in their communication work, they emphasize shared university values such as sustainability, participation, diversity and equal opportunities. The management bodies also work to promote awareness that quality – beyond efficient processes and transparent structures – is primarily the product of individual performance and the commitment of those working and studying at the University.

DIn promoting a culture of quality, UZH can draw on key aspects of its self-conception and aspirations. These are based on a culture of dialogue on academic matters and university policy, on the principle of stakeholder inclusion, on the willingness to bear personal responsibility as well as on openness to self-reflection, criticism and ongoing learning.


The Quality Strategy 2020–2026 was issued by the Executive Board of the University on 19 May 2020 and approved by the Extended Executive Board of the University on 26 May 2020.

Qualitätsstrategie der Universität Zürich 2020–2026

Die Universität Zürich ist in all ihren Tätigkeiten höchster Qualität verpflichtet. Dieser Grundsatz ist im Leitbild und in den Strategischen Grundsätzen der UZH verankert. Das Universitätsgesetz beauftragt die Universitätsleitung, Vorkehrungen zur Sicherung der Qualität von Forschung, Lehre und Dienstleistungen zu treffen.

Die Qualitätsstrategie 2020–2026 definiert fünf Ziele für die Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung an der UZH in den Jahren 2020–2026:

Ziel 1: Das System der Qualitätssicherung und -entwicklung unterstützt die UZH bei der Erreichung ihrer übergeordneten Ziele

Die UZH orientiert sich an definierten Zielen. In einer langfristigen Perspektive werden diese durch das Leitbild, die Strategischen Grundsätze und die universitären Policies vorgegeben. Mittelfristig soll das (jeweils auf vier Jahre angelegte) Schwerpunkt­programm der Universitätsleitung umgesetzt werden. Für das laufende Jahr sind insbesondere die im Entwicklungs- und Finanzplan festgelegten Ziele handlungs­leitend. Schwerpunktsetzungen der Universitätsleitung und der Fakultäten greifen ineinander.

Die Zielsetzungen der UZH werden inhaltlich von verschiedenen Faktoren beeinflusst. Massgebend sind der gesetzliche Auftrag des Kantons Zürich sowie der Anspruch wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz und Ausstrahlung. Die UZH orientiert sich an nationalen und internationalen Standards sowie an anerkannten Best Practices, wobei besonders die LERU (League of European Research Universities) einen wichtigen Benchmark darstellt. Berücksichtigt werden zudem die Erwartungen der Angehörigen der UZH, so namentlich der Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden in ihren verschiedenen Funktionen, aber auch der Ansprechpartner im politischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Umfeld.

Das System der Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung ist so ausgestaltet, dass es die UZH bei der Erreichung ihrer übergeordneten Ziele evidenzbasiert unterstützt. Es stellt insbesondere sicher, dass zwischen allen relevanten Anspruchsgruppen ein regelmässiger, auf aktuellen Führungsinformationen beruhender Dialog über Ziel­setzungen und den Grad ihrer Realisierung, aber auch über die damit verbundenen Heraus­forderungen und Risiken stattfindet. Zudem werden Massnahmen für eine kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Zielerreichung getroffen.

Ziel 2: Qualitätssicherungs- und Qualitätsentwicklungsprozesse sind die Grundlage für exzellente Forschung in allen Bereichen

Die Qualität der Forschung wird primär über Förderinstrumente, kompetitive Ver­fahren, Peer-Review-Prozesse und Rückmeldungen von internen und externen Gutachter*innen gesichert und weiterentwickelt. Neben wissenschaftlichen und gesamtuniversitären Standards definiert an der UZH jede Forschungsrichtung eigene Qualitäts­anforderungen. Diese werden durch Qualitätssicherungs­massnahmen unterstützt.

Die UZH entwickelt und kommuniziert ihre Regeln der kompetitiven Mittelvergabe über die entsprechenden Kommissionen und Arbeitsgruppen und stellt durch stetige Verbesserung der Vergabeprozesse sicher, dass die Anforderungen an die höchste Forschungsqualität gewährleistet bleiben.

Die UZH ist Mitunterzeichnerin der «San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment» (DORA) und trägt so zur Verbesserung der Evaluation von Forschung bei. Insbesondere verpflichtet sich die UZH in der Qualitätssicherung der Forschung zu höchster Transparenz, Reproduzierbarkeit und breitestem Zugang ihrer Forschungs­resultate. Ebenso setzt sich die UZH dafür ein, dass interdisziplinäre und diszipli­näre Forschung adäquat und ebenbürtig evaluiert werden.

Ziel 3: Geschlossene Qualitätskreisläufe werden in den Bereichen Lehre und Studium, Evaluation sowie Führungsprozesse implementiert

Neben Fördermassnahmen und der Gewährleistung guter Rahmenbedingungen beruht das System der Quali­täts­sicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung an der UZH auf geschlossenen Qualitätskreisläufen, so namentlich in den Bereichen Lehre und Studium, Evaluation sowie Führungsprozesse.

Die Qualitätskreisläufe der UZH sind in die alltäglichen Aktivitäten der Hochschule eingebettet. Sie sind so konzipiert, dass auf der Grundlage regelmässiger Standort­bestimmungen Erreichtes bewertet, Handlungsbedarf identifiziert und Mass­nahmen ergriffen oder angepasst werden können. Dies ermöglicht kontinuierliche Ver­bes­se­rungs­prozesse (KVP) und erlaubt es der UZH gleichzeitig, aktuelle Heraus­for­de­run­gen rasch aufzugreifen und Handlungsoptionen aktiv zu nutzen. Die Qualitäts­kreis­läufe greifen so ineinander, dass Führungsinformationen, die in einem Quali­täts­kreis­lauf erhoben werden, unter Wahrung definierter Zugriffsrechte auch in anderen Qualitätskreisläufen zur Verfügung stehen.

Das System der Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung stellt sicher, dass die Angehörigen der UZH die erwähnten Quali­tätskreisläufe, Verfahren und Instrumente kennen und verstehen. Digitale Hilfsmittel vereinfachen die Prozesse, dies besonders bei der Bereitstellung von Informationen und der Standardisierung von Abläufen und Berichten.

Ziel 4: Gesamtuniversitäre und fakultäre Massnahmen im Bereich der Qualitäts­sicherung und Qualitäts­entwicklung werden wirkungsvoll miteinander verknüpft

Aufgrund der Grösse der UZH und der Autonomie ihrer Fakultäten sind Quali­täts­sicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung nicht auf allen Ebenen und in allen Tätig­keits­gebieten gleich organisiert. Vielmehr entspricht die Verknüpfung von dezentralen und zentralen Impulsen auch in diesem Bereich dem Prinzip der Subsidiarität und dem Selbstverständnis der UZH als Expert*innenorganisation.

Das System der Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung ist an der UZH so angelegt, dass dezentrale und zentrale Massnahmen wirkungsvoll und systematisch aufeinander bezogen werden können. Die Massnahmen der Fakultäten sollen im jeweiligen fakultären Kontext anschlussfähig und systemhaft sein. Darüber hinaus gibt die Universitätsleitung bestimmte Massnahmen für alle Fakultäten verbindlich vor und etabliert damit einen kohärenten Qualitätsstandard für die ganze Universität.

Das System der Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsentwicklung stellt sicher, dass zwischen der Universitätsleitung und den Fakultätsleitungen ein regelmässiger Austausch über das wirkungsvolle Ineinandergreifen gesamtuniversitärer und fakultärer Massnahmen stattfindet.

Ziel 5: Die universitäre Qualitätskultur wird gefördert und gepflegt

Die erfolgreiche Umsetzung der obigen vier Ziele setzt die Entwicklung und Pflege einer universitären Qualitätskultur voraus. Die Leitungsorgane der UZH führen mit der universitären Öffentlichkeit einen Dialog über das Thema Qualität und betonen in der Kommunikation gemeinsame Werte wie Nachhaltigkeit, Partizipation, Diversität und Chancengleichheit. Sie fördern zudem das Bewusstsein dafür, dass die Qualität der UZH neben effizienten Prozessen und transparenten Strukturen vor allem auf der individuellen Leistung und dem Engagement der hier tätigen Menschen beruht.

Die Förderung der Qualitätskultur kann an wichtige Aspekte des traditionellen Selbstverständnisses der UZH anknüpfen. Dieses basiert unter anderem auf einer Kultur des wissenschaftlichen und universitätspolitischen Austauschs, auf dem Prinzip der Mitwirkung aller relevanten Anspruchsgruppen, der Bereitschaft zur Eigen­verant­wortung sowie Selbstreflexion, Kritikfähigkeit und Lernbereitschaft.


Die Qualitätsstrategie 2020–2026 wurde von der Universitätsleitung am 19. Mai 2020 beschlossen und von der Erweiterten Universitätsleitung am 26. Mai 2020 genehmigt.