U21 Visual

Universitas 21 Membership

Global Network of Research-intensive Universities

Universitas 21 (U21) is the leading global network of 27 research-intensive universities from all six continents. The aim of the network is to facilitate collaboration and cooperation between its members, to advance the internationalization of education and to promote the exchange of experience at all levels.

The University of Zurich has been a member since May 2017 and is the only Swiss university member. UZH's involvement supports the internationalization strategy, fosters innovative approaches, promotes research-inspired teaching and learning as well as student mobility.
UZH Representation at U21: Governance and Leadership (PDF, 120 KB)

Focus on Education, Research and Student Experience

U21's wide-ranging activities fall into three areas of focus:

  • Educational Innovation
  • Researcher Engagement
  • Student Experience

The goal is to build a global perspective into as many university-related topics as possible, and to promote collaboration in these areas. This enables UZH to encourage greater levels of student and staff mobility, develop deeper links with prestigious international partners and pursue joint research on a truly global stage.

UZH Representation on U21 Groups and Activities

Open the drop-down of the following fold-out components for more information about UZH representatives on the different U21 groups and activities.

U21 Governance and Leadership

UZH representatives meet about four times a year to discuss and jointly develop the direction of our U21 involvement and activities. The U21 Senior Leader is the liaison point between the university and the network and promotes and fosters network engagement at an institutional level.

UZH is represented by:

U21 Group

UZH Member

U21: Presidents Michael Schaepman, President
U21: Senior Leaders' Group Christian Simm, Head International Relations Office
U21: Officers Katja Durkin, Deputy Head International Relations Office

U21 Educational Innovation

Teaching-related activities include an annual U21 conference for practitioners and administrators concerned with all areas of Educational Innovation as well as joint ventures to offer online seminars on global issues, such as the increasing urbanization of the planet.

UZH is represented by:

U21 Group

UZH Member
U21: Educational Innovation Symposia Gabriele Siegert, Vice President Education and Student Affairs
U21: Deans of Education

Fritz Staub, Institute of Education

U21 Researcher Engagement

U21 enables the University of Zurich to develop deeper links with prestigious international partners and pursue joint research on a truly global stage. Research teams at all academic levels have the opportunity to discuss and learn from each other at numerous U21 activities, such as the "Early Career Researcher Workshops" or the "Three Minute Thesis Competition".
U21: Researcher Opportunities
U21: Early Career Researcher Workshops
U21: Three Minute Thesis Competition

UZH is represented by:

U21 Group/Cluster

UZH Member

U21: Deans and Directors of Graduate Studies

Claudine Leysinger, Director of Graduate Campus

U21 Research Collaboration Group Maurus Bolfing, Head of Research Program Funding, Research, Innovation and Academic Career Development;
Agatha Keller, Co-Head EU Grants Access
U21: Research Leaders Group Wolfgang Behr, Dean of Research, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
U21: Joint PhD

Thomas Hidber, Head of Academic Program Development

U21 Student Experience

The U21 student experience initiative allows students to complete a mobility stay or summer school at a partner university, to attend an undergraduate research conference, or to compete against other bright minds in the U21 student community.

Student Opportunities

Being a student at UZH means being part of an international exchange of thoughts and ideas and of an university that is globally renowned for academic excellence and benefiting from U21-led student opportunities.
U21: Gain insights on Student Competitions

U21 Scholarships Summer Schools

UZH students participating in summer schools or other short programs offered by U21 universities can profit from scholarships.
Global Student Experience Website: UZH Scholarships for Short Programs

Real Impact on Society and Environment (RISE)

RISE is U21's newest student opportunity, an international showcase of student achievement in sustainability and social innovation designed to accelerate the scale and impact of student-led projects by connecting them with a network of experts in academia and industry. As a U21 member, UZH is invited to nominate a student-led project that addresses at least one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

UZH is represented by:

U21 Group/Activity

UZH Member/Contact

U21: Student Mobility Group Andrea Orbann Oechslin, Head of Student Mobility
U21: Employability Group Roger Gfrörer, Head of Career Services
U21: RISE Showcase Barbara Eisner, Project Manager International Partnerships

Grafi U21

Mitglied der Universitas 21

Globales Netzwerk universitärer Spitzenforschung

Universitas 21 (U21) ist ein führendes Netzwerk von 27 forschungsstarken Universitäten aus allen Kontinenten. Das Netzwerk fördert die Zusammenarbeit und Kooperation seiner Mitglieder, die Internationalisierung im Bildungswesen und den Erfahrungsaustausch auf allen Ebenen.

Die UZH ist seit Mai 2017 Mitglied, als einzige Schweizer Universität. Die Mitgliedschaft unterstützt die Internationalisierung, die Förderung innovativer Ansätze, eine forschungsintensive Lehre sowie die Erhöhung der studentischen Mobilität.
UZH Representation at U21: Governance and Leadership (PDF, 120 KB) (in Englisch)

Fokus auf Lehre, Forschung und Studentische Erfahrung

Die vielfältigen Aktivitäten der U21 umfassen drei Fokusbereiche:

  • Innovation in der Lehre (Educational Innovation)
  • Forschung (Researcher Engagement)
  • Studentische Erfahrung (Student Experience)

Möglichst viele universitäre Themen sollen eine globale Perspektive integrieren. Zudem ist U21 bestrebt, die Zusammenarbeit in diesen Bereichen zu fördern. Dadurch kann die UZH die Mobilität ihrer Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden stärker unterstützen, engere Verbindungen zu renommierten internationalen Partnern aufbauen und auf globaler Ebene gemeinsame Forschung betreiben.

Vertretung der UZH in Gruppen und Aktivitäten der U21

Die nachstehenden Ausklapp-Elemente zeigen die Vertretung der UZH in den verschiedenen U21-Gruppen.

U21 Governance and Leadership

Die Vertretenden der UZH kommen rund viermal jährlich zusammen, um die Ausrichtung der Mitgliedschaft und Aktivitäten im Rahmen der U21 zu erörtern und zu erarbeiten. Der oder die U21 Senior Leader ist das Bindeglied zwischen der Universität und dem Netzwerk. Er oder sie bewirbt und fördert das Engagement in der U21 auf institutioneller Ebene.

Die UZH wird wie folgt vertreten:

U21-Gruppe

UZH-Mitglied

U21: Presidents Michael Schaepman, Rektor
U21: Senior Leaders' Group Christian Simm, Leiter International Relations Office
U21: Officers Katja Durkin, Stellvertretende Leiterin, International Relations Office

U21 Educational Innovation

Zu den Aktivitäten im Bereich Lehre zählt die jährliche U21-Konferenz für Dozierende und administrative Fachkräfte, die sich mit der Innovation in der Lehre befassen. Weiter bestehen Partnerschaften zum Angebot von Online-Seminaren zu globalen Frage- und Problemstellungen wie der zunehmenden Verstädterung unseres Planeten.

Die UZH wird wie folgt vertreten:

U21-Gruppe

UZH-Mitglied
U21: Educational Innovation Symposia Gabriele Siegert, Vize-Rektorin und Prorektorin Lehre und Studium
U21: Deans of Education

Fritz Staub, Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft

U21 Researcher Engagement

Dank ihrer Mitgliedschaft in der U21 kann die UZH engere Verbindungen zu renommierten internationalen Partnern aufbauen und auf globaler Ebene gemeinsame Forschung betreiben. Forschungsteams aller Studienstufen können im Rahmen zahlreicher U21-Aktivitäten wie den «Early Career Researcher Workshops» oder der «Three Minute Thesis Competition» miteinander diskutieren und voneinander lernen.
U21: Researcher Opportunities
U21: Early Career Researcher Workshops
U21: Three Minute Thesis Competition

Die UZH wird wie folgt vertreten:

U21-Gruppe/Cluster

UZH-Mitglied

U21: Deans and Directors of Graduate Studies

Claudine Leysinger, Abteilungsleiterin, Graduate Campus

U21 Research Collaboration Group Maurus Bolfing, Leiter Programmförderung, Forschungsförderung
Agatha Keller, Ko-​Leiterin, EU GrantsAccess
U21: Research Leaders Group Wolfgang Behr, Prodekan Forschung, Philosophische Fakultät
U21: Joint PhDs

Thomas Hidber, Abteilungsleiter Studienangebotsentwicklung

U21 Student Experience

Die Student Experience Initiative der U21 bietet Studierenden Plätze für Mobilitätsaufenthalte oder Summer Schools an einer Partneruniversität, Teilnahmemöglichkeiten an studentischen Forschungskonferenzen sowie Gelegenheiten, um sich mit anderen begabten Studierenden aus der U21-Gemeinschaft zu messen.

Chancen für Studierende

Studierende der UZH sind Teil eines internationalen Gedanken- und Ideenaustauschs. Sie sind in eine Universität eingebunden, die weltweit einen ausgezeichneten akademischen Ruf geniesst, und profitieren von Chancen im Rahmen der U21.
U21: Student Competitions

U21 – Summer Schools

Für Studierende der UZH, die an Summer Schools oder anderen Kurzprogrammen von U21-Mitgliedern teilnehmen möchten, besteht die Möglichkeit, ein Stipendium zu beantragen.
Website Global Student Experience: UZH Scholarships for Short Programs

Real Impact on Society and Environment (RISE)

RISE ist die neuste Initiative der U21 für Studierende. Sie bietet die Möglichkeit zur internationalen Präsentation studentischer Leistungen in den Bereichen Nachhaltigkeit und soziale Innovation. Ziel ist, die Reichweite und Wirkung studentischer Projekte durch die Vernetzung mit Fachpersonen aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft zu erhöhen. Als U21-Mitglied kann die UZH ein studentisches Projekt nominieren, das sich mit mindestens einem der 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen befasst.

Die UZH wird wie folgt vertreten:

U21-Gruppe/Aktivität

UZH-Mitglied

U21: Student Mobility Group Andrea Orbann Oechslin, Leiterin Global Student Experience
U21: Employability Group Roger Gfrörer, Leiter Career Services
U21: RISE Showcase Andrea Orbann Oechslin, Leiterin Global Student Experience