Open Science

The UZH Open Science Policy


The University of Zurich (UZH) is committed to free and Open Science practices that includes open exchange, transparency, reproducibility and accountability. The aim is to increase the quality and effectiveness of research as well as the benefits to society.

Open science becomes the guiding principle

On September 28, 2021, the executive board approved the Open Science Policy. It takes into account the National open access strategy of swissuniversities and the Open Science Roadmap of the League of European Research Universities (LERU).
With this policy, the university creates the necessary conditions to be able to integrate the practices and values of an open academic culture into the structure of the UZH and its processes. The aim is to establish Open Science as the norm.

Recommendations for research and teaching

The policy describes a shared vision and offers recommendations for action on how Open Science can be integrated into academic practices and teaching at UZH. It also serves as a basis for UZH to promote an open scientific culture at the local, national and international level. The potential of open science can only be fully exploited if this approach becomes an integral part of research practice worldwide.

Priorities of the policy

1. Access

Public and free access to scientific results and data, codes, teaching materials and publications is a core concern of open science.

2. Research methods

Research methods should improve the reproducibility, replicability, transparency, and efficiency of scientific results.

3. Culture change

Ultimately, the benefits of open science can only be fully reaped if there is a cultural change in university structures and in the way researchers work. This also includes the way in which scientific achievements are assessed.

Implementation of the policy

The various research disciplines play a central role in implementing the recommendations set out in the policy. Therefore, additional discipline-specific requirements can be defined. 

In the coming months, the Open Science Team, the Vice President Research, the Open Science Committee and the Libraries will work together with the faculties to determine the need for additional support. The results will underpin the implementation plan.

Open Science Policy der Universität Zürich

Die Universität Zürich (UZH) ist einer freien und offenen Wissenschaft verpflichtet, die einen offenen Austausch, Transparenz, Reproduzierbarkeit und Rechenschaftspflichten umfasst. Qualität und Wirksamkeit der Forschung sowie der gesellschaftliche Nutzen sollen dadurch gesteigert werden.

Offene Wissenschaftskultur als Leitprinzip

Am 28. September 2021 hat die Universitätsleitung die Open Science Policy genehmigt. Sie berücksichtigt die Nationale Open-Access-Strategie von swissuniversities sowie die Open Science Roadmap der League of European Research Universities (LERU).

Mit der Policy schafft die Universität die nötigen Voraussetzungen, um Praktiken und Werte einer offenen Wissenschaftskultur in die Struktur der UZH und ihre Prozesse integrieren zu können. Ziel ist es Open Science als Norm zu etablieren.

Empfehlungen für Forschung und Lehre

Die Policy beschreibt eine gemeinsame Vision und bietet Handlungsempfehlungen, wie sich Verfahren und Methoden von Open Science in den wissenschaftlichen Betrieb und die Lehre der UZH integrieren lassen. Sie dient der UZH auch als Grundlage, um auf lokaler, nationaler und internationaler Ebene eine offene Wissenschaftskultur zu fördern. Das Potential von Open Science lässt sich nur dann vollständig ausschöpfen, wenn dieser Ansatz weltweit zu einem integralen Bestandteil der Forschungspraxis wird.

Schwerpunkte der Policy

1. Zugang

Der öffentliche und freie Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Leistungen und Daten, Codes, Unterrichtsmaterialien und Publikationen ist ein Kernanliegen der offenen Wissenschaft.

2. Forschungsmethoden

Es sollen Forschungsmethoden angewandt werden, die Reproduzierbarkeit, Replizierbarkeit, Transparenz, Effizienz und Robustheit der wissenschaftlichen Leistungen verbessern.

3. Kulturwandel

Schliesslich können die Vorteile einer offenen Wissenschaft nur dann in vollem Umfang zum Tragen kommen, wenn ein Kulturwandel in universitären Strukturen und in der Arbeitsweise von Forschenden stattfindet. Dazu gehört auch, wie wissenschaftliche Leistungen bewertet werden.

Umsetzung der Policy

Die konkrete Realisierung einer offenen Wissenschaftskultur ist abhängig von fachspezifischen Anforderungen. Die verschiedenen Forschungsdisziplinen spielen daher bei der Umsetzung der in der Policy ausgeführten Empfehlungen eine zentrale Rolle. Sie haben die Möglichkeit bei Bedarf weitere Anforderungen in ihren Fachbereichen zu definieren.

In den kommenden Monaten werden das Open-Science-Team, die Prorektorin Forschung, die Open-Science-Kommission und die Bibliotheken in einem gemeinsamen Prozess mit den Fakultäten den Bedarf an zusätzlicher Unterstützung erheben. Die Resultate werden in die Umsetzungsplanung einfliessen.